top of page
  • Foto van schrijverLeonie & Leontine

And we are off! Sustainable … or not…

Bijgewerkt op: 7 feb. 2020

(Leonie)...Let’s find the answer.

Getting up was a little tough this early, 6:00 am and ‘gravity did fall’ 😎... We are three hours on our way but I don’t seem to be waking up nor am able to catch some sleep, so better use the time wisely.

While writing our first ‘live’ blog on the Thalys from Amsterdam to Brussels. A comfortable way of transport. A friendly wagoner informed us where we could expect our coach to stop and when on board, we found our reserved seats easily, with enough space to drop our bags either in the shelve above us or in the luggage part of the cabin a few meters away from our seats…and perfect WIFI and a plug to charge your devises..


So how sustainable are we going to be? Well, straight to the point… it is not all that simple and honestly travelling by train and boat presume a smaller CO2 output than travelling by plain but is it actually more sustainable?


Browsing the internet trying to answer this question, I realized the answer is not just a click away and there is not just one answer… I had to keep my guards up to make sure that what I understood I was reading I understood correctly… did I understand it correctly and in the way it was intended to be understood or did I understand something else… In this quest for an answer I noticed it felt really uncomfortable… I questioned my choice several times and wondered if we were doing the right thing...


At this time I was confused,… and also experiencing some frustration… this is not what I had expected… why am I not able to find a quick answer… why does it seem so difficult to find the answer… ? 🤔


I know when I find myself in doubt like this, I better sit with my doubt and discomfort for the time being, before jumping to conclusions…. So I don’t have the answer yet and will be looking into it later giving it another shot while on the Eurostar from Brussels to London later today…



5 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page